Well, here I am, trapped in the midst of end of college semester madness and slowly losing my mind- not for the first time in my life.
It is times like these that I look to the good that is ahead of me. At the moment that good is my trip to London that starts in ten days. It will be a glorious adventure, and after some planning it will also include Oxford, which was the college of my two favorite writers of all time; C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien. Other literary sites I plan to visit include Baker Street (both the actual street and the street that is home to the door portrayed in the TV show Sherlock) and probably some sites used in the Harry Potter movies.

As I look forward to travelling to the haunts of my favorite authors and locations from my favorite books I also think ahead to my adventures for the rest of the summer. You see, over the summer I plan to re-write (for the second, and hopefully final time) my first book. This will be its third draft and second revision. Finally, however, I will have outside help as I write it. Previously I had had no options for working on my book with another person who actually knows something about writing, but this summer I will be taking an Independent Study with the professor from my publishing class (who made me write this blog), Dr. Williams.

I’m rather excited about this, because to be completely honest I have run out of ideas on how to improve my first book. A word of advice to young or beginning writers; you will eventually need someone outside of yourself and your family to look at your story, so find someone intelligent, who you trust, and convince them to read your book or story. You will need this person because, if you are anything like me, you will, eventually, run out of ideas for edits and changes, second guess yourself, end up writing bizarre plot twists and unnecessary characters and probably question reality. Especially if, like me, you work on a story for more than five years.

Unless you self publish, you will need to have someone else critically look over your book and offer ideas for constructive changes anyway. Eventually, if you get in with a publishing house, you will have it looked over by an editor, and I hope that you want the story to be as good as possible before you get to that point. Even if you self publish, I highly recommend that you get someone else to read over your story, because once you put it online you potentially subject yourself to the gaze of everyone with computer access in the entire world. Basically, you want your story to be good to avoid as much embarrassment as possible. And also future re-writes. Re-writes are, in my opinion, better than just editing, but they take a long time and a lot of work, which is why I’m working on my book this summer.

If you’re interested, the book I will be working on is called, The Tale of Mozart the Meerkitten and I will try to upkeep this blog and post updates on it over the summer.

In the meantime, if you want to get a taste of my book-world, I suggest reading my short story contained within the book The Oddities of Room 34, that my class published this semester. It can be found here: https://www.amazon.com/Oddities-Room-34-ENG-344/dp/1545273448/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1492397946&sr=8-1&keywords=the+oddities+of+room+34

